Cycling: Stephenson in lead as Tunbridge Wells trio beat 35-year record for time trial

LEADING LIGHT Abi Todd was named Kent League Player of the Year

LONG-STANDING records tumbled when Southborough and District Wheelers (SDW) held their 10-mile time trial championship near Liss/Liphook in Hampshire.

Out of 126 riders, Rob Stephenson covered the course in 20min 32sec to win the race.

He and two other SDW cyclists, Neil Couchman 20.52 and David Rumm 20.58, all beat the club men’s team record that had stood for 35 years.

Rory Barrett 20.59; Oliver Stevens 21.03 and Matt Kuwertz 21.10 were also well-placed.

SDW also competed in the Bigfoot Cycle Club 25-mile time trial Q25/8 course near Chilham.

Neil Couchman finished in a creditable 14th place in 57.18; Andy Quye recorded a personal best 1:00.54sec with Andrew Thomas 1:03.29.

In the Bec Cycle Club 10-mile TT on the G10/57 near Crawley, David Rumm completed the course in 22.08 and Mike Daniels in 28.21.

David Rowe completed the Hounslow & District Wheelers 25-mile TT on the A31 near Farnham, Surrey in a time of 1:02.07.

In the category 2 and 3 South East Road Race League, held on the Ladies’ Mile course near Groombridge, Keith Henderson (29th) and Matt Kuwertz (36th) rode strong races.

In the Crits at the Park cycle event at Gravesend’s Cyclopark, Philippa Jenkins finished fourth in the ladies’ event, while in the men’s category 4 race Tom Jones finished fifth.

Other SDW riders who were well placed in a competitive field of 46 riders were Daniel Veness (13th); Julian Fussell (19th); Przemek Jersz (22nd) and Dave Pettitt (30th).

In the Men’s Category 2/3/4 race Rory Barrett (9th); Matt Kuwertz (16th) also finished well.

One of the club’s junior riders, Jasper Simpson, enjoyed a successful the Spring in the Park event, achieving an excellent third place.

Emily Bowyer, Marc and Jack Johnson and Theo Sandell also finishing well in their respective age groups at the Cyclopark.

In the Medway Velo 10-mile Time Trial event on the Isle of Grain, Martin Yardley (26.58) and Natasha Jarman (30.46) were well placed.

In the Southern Counties CU 10-mile on the G10/57 course in Surrey, David Rumm finished in 21.44 to come 10th and Mike Daniels (28.39) finished second veteran rider.

In the Bexley CC 10-mile TT on the Isle of Grain, Andy Quye 25.07, Mike Saadat 26.21, Martin Yardley 26.47, Mike Daniels 31.15 and Doug Finch 34.18 recorded commendable times.

Philippa Jenkins raced in the Charlotteville CC 50 mile TT near Bentley in Hampshire and finished the race as fifth lady with a personal best time of 2hr 1min 35sec.

Taking part in the Norwood Paragon CC 25-mile TT near Horsham in Sussex, Chris Wolton 58.19; Andrew Thomas 1.06.02 and Ian Turner 1.06.09 placed well.

Natasha Jarman took part in the Thanet RC 25-mile TT in East Kent, completing the course in a time of 1.15.087.

Southborough & District Wheelers are currently promoting supervised novice female rides.

For information visit

Share this article

Recommended articles


Please enter a search term below.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter