Cycling: Jenkins rules road with 10-mile time trial record

LEADING LIGHT Abi Todd was named Kent League Player of the Year

PHILIPPA JENKINS has set a new ladies’ 10-mile time trial record for Southborough & District Wheelers.

Riding in the Catford CC event, held on the Tonbridge by-pass, Jenkins recorded a time of 22min 48sec to improve upon a club record that had stood for 35 years. 

Also competing in a field of 94 were SDW riders Neil Couchman 21.57; Olly Stevens 22.03; Chris Wolton 22.10; Ian Hodge 22.50;  Guy Lane 22.51;  Charles Dennison 23.34; Mark Gidney 24.13; Paul Greer 24.17; Andrew Thomas 24.46; Doug Bentall 25.01; Mike Saadat 25.24; Ian Turner 25.34;  Colin Jarman 26.03 and Mike Daniels 30.04. The event was won by J Rix (Crawley Wheelers) 19.19.

The East Sussex Cycling Association held their 10-mile time trial on the G10/87, near Maresfield with 61 riders taking part.

Andrew Quye 24.40 and Doug Finch 32.59 were well placed with G Welfare (Eastbourne Rovers) 21.27 winning the event.

In the Farnborough & Camberley CC 25-mile time trial Peter Rowe covered the H25/8 Bentley by-pass course in 1hr 1min 25sec.

Eighty riders were competing in the ESCA 25TT, where Philippa set a personal best (PB) time of 1:00.09 to be the first woman to finish. 

Also riding were Neil Couchman 56.42; Chris Wolton 56.59; Guy Lane 58.59; Andrew Quye 1.01.18 (PB) and Andrew Thomas 1.05.10. The event was won by M Townsend  (Eastbourne Rovers) 53.37.

In other races Tim Johnson finished second in the Bedgebury Forest Cyclo Cross while at Preston Park in Brighton Miles Baker-Clarke finished in the points in the Category Four race.

Share this article

Recommended articles


Please enter a search term below.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter