Cricket: Bidborough win village title again

Pam Mills

The title came down to a winner-takes-all contest in the final match at Four Elms last Saturday.

The visitors won the toss and chose to bat first. They posted a total of 189 for 9 thanks to captain James Baldock leading from the front, opening up with 65.

He put on 86 for the second wicket with Stuart Pinchin (26). Ben Crowhurst was the pick of the Four Elms bowlers with 3 for 21.

Crowhurst remained resolute at the top of the order as his team mates fell around him, and hit three sixes in his innings of 56.

However, the only support came from Rob Smith, with 44 not out at No 9.

The reply fell 27 runs short on 162 for 9 with Anthony Bouffe picking up 3 for 22 and his opening partner Rob Ackerman taking 2 for 17 in a disciplined display.

Baldock said afterwards: “Winning the league is always a huge team effort, and winning back-to-back titles is especially difficult.

“We have some very talented players committed to our great village team. The lads worked hard and deserved the victory.”

PICTURE: CHAMPIONS: (Back, l-r) Andy Healy, Anthony Bouffe, Rob Ackerman, Howard Nankivell, Robin Underwood, Daniel Page, Jonathan Shepherdson, Dale Hillhouse, Dave Pinchin; (front) Tim Johnson, James Baldock, Stuart Pinchin

Share this article

Recommended articles


Please enter a search term below.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter